The Hessian Goes Home…

About 160 years ago, John Henry Gall, my great-great grandfather, came to the United States and settled in Missouri.  He was from Hesse, a state in west Germany.  In America, the term “Hessian” conjures images of drunken German mercenaries defeated by George Washington, but the term simply refers to a person from the state of Hesse, like John Henry Gall.

Now, I’m going back to Germany at the behest of another “relative”: Uncle Sam.  This blog is an attempt to let friends and family see what I’m up to, as well as get a taste of military life, which I’ll be living for the next 365 days.

I’m deploying to Kaiserslautern, a city housing two military bases that have featured prominently in the news: Landstuhl Regional Medical Center, the largest US hospital outside of the US, where all the war wounded are sent after being stabilized in theater, and Ramstein Air Base, a major logistics hub.

I’m in the state right next door to Hesse, so intend to go tread the same streets that my great-great grandfather did 160 years ago.

-Mick.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Hessian Goes Home…

  1. cotterpinhouse

    I suppose you think I’m going to add you to my blogroll now, don’t you?

    You’d be right, sir.

    • Stephen R. Gall Sr.

      Hey cuz, just following up on you and see how you and army life get along. I’ll check back in every once and awhile. Just try to make the best out of army life. your cuz, Steve

Leave a Reply

