Weekend wrapup

Cotterpin came up this weekend.

It was kind of a last-minute type of deal.  Once we determined I’d be in Washington, D.C. for a few weeks, and that I’d be free of duties for the weekend, we made plans for Cotterpin to come out.  I was very excited to see her.  And a little sad that we couldn’t work it out to see our daughter.  We could’ve, I guess, but it would’ve been very cumbersome and difficult, and expensive.  So while I certainly missed her, I was ecstatic to see Cotterpin.  She’s sweet and fun and energetic and energizing.  And cute, too boot.  And even cuter recently, because she’s sporting a newer hairstyle and has been working out.

We hit some of the standard stuff; Washington Monument, Lincoln Memorial, and National Air and Space Museum.  The Air and Space Museum let my nerd side out, all the knowledge I have about military aviation, thanks to years of osmosis learning from my oldest brother (Hey, Dean!), and I poured forth about what this plane did, that satellite accomplished, etc.

We also went to the National Archives to see some of the most beautiful things in a democracy: the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, and the Bill of Rights.  They’re documents that founded our nation, and they’re the closest thing to a King that our nation has.  Our soldiers (myself included) swear fealty to the Constitution and the Bill of Rights, so seeing it in person meant a lot.

And having Cotterpin there was a ton of fun.  There was someone there to poke me and make fun of me when I got too nerdy, or appreciate the nuggets of historical knowledge that I’d impart, or to walk the length of the mall with, or to see the protestors at the White House with.

It was a bonus; something that shouldn’t have happened; we had planned to say goodbye for six months on May 1, since I was leaving on May.  So this weekend was all icing on the cake, gravy on the roast beef, an extra thing to be enjoyed and appreciated, right?

Right.  And it was gravy and icing.

But at the end of the day, when Cotterpin’s gone, the world seems a little greyer, and dimmer, and I’m sorry she’s gone.  I miss her already, and I can count her absence in hours on one hand.  But I’ll blink through the tears, and count the days until I see her again.

Love you, Cotterpin, and can’t wait to see you again!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

