Range day

Got to go to the range for our annual weapons qualification. Technically, I only have to qualify on the M16 rifle, but we decided to go a second day and qualify on the M9 pistol as well. Like the bumper stickers say about fishing, “A bad day at the range beats a good day at the office.”

Day 1 was the M16

First you zero:

Then you do the actual qualifications:

You were supposed to spread your shots around, only do four shots per target. My weapon kept jamming, and I’d lose count of which ones I had shot how many times. The result was that the poor sucker at 150 meters really got it good.

They give you 40 rounds; I got 32 of them on the targets. Minimum to qualify is 24. Not the best I’ve ever done, but not bad, either.

Day 2 was the M9 pistol.

No zeroing with this one; the pistol’s sights are not adjustable. You just point and shoot. They give you one human silhouette target, and you have to get as many in the black as possible.

I didn’t break any records on this one, but shot the hell out of that guy’s spleen:

I think this proves I’ll never be a villain.

It’s a good thing, too. If I was a stormtrooper, Han, Luke and Leia would be dead as hell.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Range day

  1. Ed

    Nice shootin’! When you get back to the land of the free and the home of copious gun ownership, we’ll have to head to the range for a ‘mad minute’! Really nice job with the M9. They are big and clunky and their triggers are not the smoothest, esp if you have to start double-action. As evidence, I’ve only ever seen one guy use a Beretta in competition, and that was just for fun. If you get free ammo and range time, you should more often!

Leave a Reply

